top of page

Nocturnal wildlife adventure in Queensland, Australia


Walking through the dense forest by torchlight, what can you see in the shadows? What is that bright pair of eyes staring back at you?


Nocturnal wildlife can be fun to spot, but challenging to identify and see clearly. Nocturnal wildlife makes up 80% of animals in Australia, yet when it comes to spotting such animals in the wild, it’s an activity that can be anything but easy.


Wait a While Whilst staying at Palm cove in Far North Queensland, Australia, I took the opportunity to join a Wait A While Rainforest Tour. Having done my research, I knew that they would offer the kind of tour that I was looking for.


On the day of the tour the pickup was in a white van that met me straight out the front of our apartment, it was driven by tour operator Paul. Paul runs this local business, and he would be our guide for the afternoon and evening, and he certainly displayed that he had a knack for high-quality service. I was the first pickup of the day and this gave me the opportunity to chat to him. He is incredibly knowledgeable on the local wildlife and used to work on the Great Barrier Reef. His love for both the area and unique wildlife was really evident during our chat. We could have talked for hours about the effects of global warming vs. natural environments changing throughout history. This discussion even covered the effect of this on the very animals that we were going to attempt to track down. Animal spotting

TWe stopped at various hotels in Cairns to collect the rest of our group. This is a small group tour which takes you away from the usual crowds. The maximum group size is 11. Before we hit the forest trails, we stop to see the local kangaroos and get ourselves used to the provided binoculars. There were so many in the fields, including little baby kangaroos. Next we travelled up into the hinterlands and Atherton Tablelands. The journey has many bends and can get to your head, but Paul with his years of experience is prepared for this and offers various methods to help. For me, the view is well worth it. You can see for miles and miles from the viewpoint, seeing the farming fields turning into thick tropical rainforest. There are also so many interesting boulders along the mountain side we are climbing. We stop near a river and Paul's keen eyes soon spots us a Platypus swimming along. The binoculars help me to see the detail on the bill and its fur. This is one of the animals I was really hoping we would get to see. With a 90% sighting success rate, there is no better company to see this elusive and increasingly rare species with. For those interested in experiencing this tour for yourself, if you quote 'DESTND2BWILD', they will offer you 10% off the cost of the booking too. We go on to take a couple of forest walks, which I would not be comfortable taking on my own. Here we see the musky rat kangaroo as it scurries through. On the tree over there carefully camouflaged is a Boyd’s Forest Dragon. The Cathedral Fig tree is a sight to behold. Looking up it seems there is no top, this is a massive 500-year-old strangler tree.

Time for tea We take afternoon tea surrounded by the forest and overlooking the lakes. Tim tams and local tea hits the spot. It also gives me a chance to watch the birds fluttering around and a chance to identify a few of them at the same time.


We then take a stop near a tea plantation. Walking up and down the small protected area of trees, this habitat is not at all where I had imagined finding the next animal. Searching high into the canopy, it appeared like it would not be our lucky day, then suddenly someone calls out, "There’s one!". I turn my binoculars and marvel at the creature staring back at me. For here is the extremely rare tree kangaroo. Yes, you read correctly, a kangaroo that lives in the trees. Lumholtz's tree-kangaroo is one of around 16 species. This special animal is extremely rare, and we are very lucky to spot not one but two. I savour the moment as I have wanted to see one of these in the wild since I saw one at Fetherdale wildlife park in Sydney. They remind me half of a monkey come kangaroo. With sweet little faces, little is known of the small population left in Queensland. Dinner is included with the tour and it’s situated at one of the oldest pubs in the area. The menu is extensive, and I choose to have the fish. It’s delicious and goes down well with the local wine that I purchased. This break gives me the opportunity to chat with some of the other guests. One family has a mother who enjoys photography and travelling. She is enjoying the opportunity to share this experience with her daughter. Nocturnal adventures

When we return to the cooler night air it is now nighttime. Time to get the spotlight out and see what tonight's walks will have in store. Paul is ready, prepared with bright vests to keep everyone safe. We go to a couple of different locations and see some flying foxes and bandicoots.


The Curtain fig tree at night gives an entirely different perspective than the one we saw during the day. Looking up at the stars, I can't help but marvel at what an awesome afternoon and evening I have had. I can recommend taking a tour with Wait A While Tours and see what awaits you. Animals are wild, so you never know what you will see, but there is so much that this area has to offer and with a knowledgeable guide, you stand the best chance to see something incredible. I have a very special deal for my readers of 10% off when you quote DESTND2BWILD when booking your tour for only $179.10 (per person). For those interested in this special opportunity, you can make a booking via telephone 0429083338 or email bookings@waitawhile.com.au. (This code is an affiliate code and if you happen to use this code, then not only can you save money, but I may earn a small commission from it too, thanks!)








You Might Also Like:
bottom of page